Why I’m Frustrated by Jennifer Hudson’s Weight Loss

Not because she went from a double-digit size to a single-digit size. She is the boss of her body.

Not because she’s prouder of her weight loss than she is of her Oscar. Again, it’s her life, and she’s free to value her accomplishments as she sees fit.

But because this:
Jennifer Hudson Weight Watchers Ad
I don’t think there’s an inherent disconnect between loving one’s body at any size and making an individual choice to lose weight. I do think there’s an inherent disconnect between I love my body at any size and I recommend you purchase this diet plan.

In advertising with “I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to do Weight Watchers” and “Join Me,” Jennifer Hudson’s weight loss is no longer only about Jennifer Hudson. It’s become a product that Weight Watchers and their spokespeople are trying to sell to me, which tries to make someone else’s weight loss a value judgment about me — and that’s not okay.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “Why I’m Frustrated by Jennifer Hudson’s Weight Loss
  1. Yup, pretty much. Which is why I was so sad when one of my favourite writers/actresses/comediennes Carrie Fisher joined Jenny Craig.

    • Carrie Fisher broke my heart, especially with her comments about how the world is not a friendly place for a fat person, and instead of working to change the world, she was trying to lose weight to get that approval again. What kind of message is that to send to anyone?

    • Ohhh that really upset me too, she had always been so good at cutting through bullshit, and next thing you know… she is selling it to us. :(

      • Tori says:

        And the selling part is what makes me saddest. While I don’t think choices to lose weight are ever made in a cultural vacuum, I can’t ever know (unless they tell me) what motivates an individual’s personal choice to lose weight. And even if I could, I’m not in a position to judge their personal choices. But when they start selling it, well, then it’s not a personal choice anymore, not totally. Grr.

      • dctrtuba says:

        so true.

  2. dctrtuba says:

    I’m much healthier than most, but I’m not skinny. I never eat beef or pork. I almost never eat processed food. I drink vegetable smoothies nearly every day. I take QUALITY vitamin supplements (not the cheap Centrum crap). But b/c I’m not skinny, I bet the idiot dieting industry would recommend that I lose weight. I’m so sick of this society’s weight BIGOTRY, and the false obesity, and the piss poor research that it’s based on.
    I haven’t been sick in at least 3 years. Not even a cold. I’d say that’s much better than the skinny people who get sick all the time :)
    HEALTH COMES AT EVERY SIZE.

    • Tori says:

      I’m not even sure I’m healthier than most. By some measures, yes. By others — hell, no.

      But that particular advertisement doesn’t leave any room for why someone might not want to join Weight Watchers, regardless of whether those fall within the category of physical health or not.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 476 other followers

