Christmas Specials

Perhaps I should be ashamed to say this, but I have a secret love for a few Christmas specials. I am not ashamed, however, because I think I have good — or at least interesting — taste in Christmas specials. So now, onto a post that is largely devoid of deep meaning but is full of cartoons (and/or Muppets) and music!

Jingle Bells!


[Video from A Charlie Brown Christmas via YouTube.]

If I were having a deeper moment, I suppose I could write a bit about taking something beautiful and whittling it down to the chintziest, most generic version in order to achieve mass market appeal. But I’m not, so moving on.

Grinches! Well, just one.


[Song "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch by Thurl Ravenscroft. Footage from How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Via YouTube.]

Though I have to admit, the concept of “garlic in your soul” sounds delicious.

Which may explain why my next favorite features both Gonzo and Ebeneezer Scrooge.


[From The Muppet Christmas Carol via YouTube.]

I have seen what some have termed an unhealthy number of versions of A Christmas Carol (of starkly varying levels of quality) over the years. This one is my favorite.

Of course, very little tops alien Santas. As Santa Claus Conquers the Martians does not have any catchy musical numbers, have some Zim:


[Video from Invader Zim, "The Most Horrible Xmas Ever," via YouTube.]

Dear Santa — When am I getting my jolly boots of doom? Kthx!

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Christmas Specials
  1. R. H. Ward says:

    I also love A Christmas Carol and have seen a bunch of versions. My favorite is the one with George C. Scott as Scrooge, because it’s also my mom’s favorite and we can pretty much recite it verbatim. But the Muppet version is pretty fantastic.

    Last week I made my husband sit through Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas. Do you remember it? I think it qualifies for the fuzziest of Christmas specials.

    • Tori says:

      I like the George C. Scott one and also the Patrick Stewart version. (I’ve not yet braved seeing the Jim Carey one.)

      And I don’t think I’ve ever even seen Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas.

      • R. H. Ward says:

        Oh, I love the Patrick Stewart! I’ve listened to his version on audio for long car trips. And, you know, there are things Jim Carey does that he is good for, and things he is not good for, and I am not willing to risk watching him in A Christmas Carol.

        I found Emmet Otter on Netflix streaming, so it’s out there. It’s a little sickly-sweet, and I think the plot structure could have used some work to move faster in some places and not rush through others. But when I was four, it was the best thing I’d ever seen. It’s a Jim Henson, so you really can’t lose. :)

        • Tori says:

          Yeah, and I tend to prefer Jim Carey in his more serious roles. (The Truman Show is among my favorite movies.) And while I think Ebeneezer Scrooge can be a serious role, the trailers and cover art I’ve seen for that version of A Christmas Carol makes it appear not so.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers

