I loves me some messed-up political spin.

This example of it from “Women in Texas Losing Options for Health Care in Abortion Fight“, a recent New York Times article that discussed political actions to reject funding for the Medicaid Women’s Health Program and to eliminate Title X:

Wayne Christian, a Republican state representative said, “I don’t think anybody is against providing health care for women. What we’re opposed to are abortions.” He added, “Planned Parenthood is the main organization that does abortions. So we kind of blend being anti-abortion with being anti-Planned Parenthood.”

We’re not opposed to health care for women. We’re just, you know, in favor of making some of that health care unsubsidized and therefore further stigmatized and inaccessible.

Yeah, that’s totally the same as being in favor of women’s health.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “I loves me some messed-up political spin.
  1. aforalpha says:

    “I don’t think anybody is against providing health care for women.”

    Good to know. Shall we then assume all of your party’s votes were made in error and nullify them, Rep. Christian?

    • Tori says:

      No kidding. How does one honestly** claim to be in favor of issues that one has a consistent record of voting against?

      ** I realize, yes, that this is the problem right there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

