Have you met my uterus?

Another post in the WEGO Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge. (I am sort of sad to be coming toward the end of April, just when I’d committed that acronym to memory.) Today’s prompt reads:

Health Mascot. Give yourself, your condition, or your health focus a mascot. Is it a real person? Fictional? Mythical being? Describe them. Bonus points if you provide a visual!

It just so happens that I have a uterus mascot already. On my LiveJournal, it’s an animated GIF, but I’m not sure if WordPress will let me upload it that way.

10 minutes later: No? At least, it does not show up as animated when I preview the post. Never fear. I can make this work anyway.

My uterus mascot has two basic manifestations. (The bolded statements appear as text on the GIF animation.)

This is my uterus:

Drawing of a uterus, including an angry face and text "FU!" on the inside of it.

This is my uterus on opiates:

Drawing of a uterus with a smiley face inside.

Any questions?

To be clear, this is not because I think opiate pain medications are the best choice for every single person with endo or even that I particularly enjoy the side effects of said medication. (I don’t.) Rather, it’s because, in my particular case, “opiate” is my shorthand to refer to “the one pain management technique that actually works to take away my pain.” In other words, the uterus up there is not grinning because it’s high; it is grinning because it is finally experiencing appropriate pain relief.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in MenstroMonster

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers

