Summer DVD Review Series… and Giveaway?

So it’s getting to be summer. For me, this means I’m getting ready to go from to much to do, with the ends of two academic years looming, to having considerably less to do. I was going to say “to not having enough to do.” Then I realized that is untrue. (Teacher readers: Seriously. We have completely revamped our pacing calendar and are moving to block schedule next year. Plenty to do.) It is, however, true that in the summer, I have more sedentary tasks to accomplish. So I sometimes invent reasons for extra movement.

One of the things I like to do for this “invented movement” is to inventory, both physically and mentally, all of my yoga DVDs. I’ve acquired a few during the year, and consequently, some have found themselves pushed to the back of the shelves or trapped under a copy of The Terror of Mechagodzilla or something. Basically, it involves me trying all the parts of all my DVDs and asking myself for each one, “When will I use this?”

DVD Cover of Total Yoga: Fire

During this process, some of my DVDs are inevitably re-homed. This doesn’t mean they’re not good DVDs, just that they’re not ones I foresee myself using in the future. Examples of why I’ve re-homed previous DVDs:

  • They’re longer than I use on a regular basis. Generally, my home practice lasts less than an hour per day. If I have significantly more time, I’m more likely to go to class. So even if the DVDs bordering on that time range are good ones — well, I have limited shelf space and lots of giant monster movies to consider as well.
  • They require more physical space than I have available. I practice in a long and narrow physical space. It’s long enough to fit my body while stepping forward and back or out to the side. It is not, however, large enough to quickly switch back and forth between the different planes of motion. Practices that do this get shelved quickly, as accidentally knocking into my computer desk is painful and bad news.
  • The pace or physical intensity isn’t suited to my taste. This might mean the instructor spends a lot of time talking about alignment (which on a DVD has limited usefulness), that it goes faster or slower than I prefer, that it uses a lot of a pose that doesn’t work for me, etc.
  • I have simply used the DVD so many times that I’ve memorized the fucker.

Not that I never do practices that move me out of my comfort zone. However, when all is said and done, there’s only so much room on my shelf. If I’m not reaching for a DVD with at least some regularity, it would probably do better living with someone else.

Usually, this means taking said DVDs to my local used book store to trade in for store credit. (And then donating the ones they don’t want.) This time, though, I’m wondering if it might be fun to do a DVD giveaway here. It might keep me posting reviews more regularly, and it would be nice to know that the DVD was going to someone who was specifically interested in it. Plus, who doesn’t like getting packages in the mail? (If you don’t, this might not be the giveaway for you. Just sayin’.) I’m thinking the logistics might work something like this:

  1. In the coming weeks, I will regularly review some of the DVD practices that I own. If it is one that is part of the giveaway, I will clearly state it as such. (And I will definitely start with a review that’s part of the giveaway.) I am in the US, and all the DVDs that work for me are ones that play in the US. If you are in a different DVD zone thing, please consider your participation accordingly.
  2. If you’re interested in the DVD, comment on the post. I will write your name on a piece of paper and stick it in a hat. (Seriously, I have lots of hats that I never wear.) If you’d like two chances to be considered, like or comment on the corresponding status update on my Facebook page. Your name will be on two papers.
  3. After a specified length of time — say, 72 hours after the Facebook post goes up — I will draw and contact a winner. It will be your job to make sure I have a reasonable way to contact you (e.g., comment notifications, email address, your choice). If I don’t hear back from you within, say, another 72 hours, I will draw another name.
  4. This will mean you need to provide me (via email or other private communication) a valid mailing address. I will then mail you the DVD to keep and enjoy or do with as you see fit.
  5. Anyone receiving a DVD is welcome and invited to post their own review of it here, particularly if your experience is divergent from mine. This is, however, completely optional and not required.

That is, if anyone might be interested?

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in DVDs and downloads
7 comments on “Summer DVD Review Series… and Giveaway?
  1. I would like this! Your yoga reviews (just of poses and possible modifications) are often helpful to me!

  2. Rebekah Jaunty says:

    Who would say no to this?

  3. nadinefawell says:

    I think it’s a brilliant idea! Like, seriously, there in nobody on this planet who despises free stuff. Cheap, yes, free, no.

    • Tori says:

      Even if there is someone on this planet who despises free stuff, I’d guess that that person and I would be fundamentally incompatible on other levels as well — and thus, they would not be reading my blog. ;)

  4. laura says:

    Huzzah for free stufff!

  5. Lauren says:

    Great idea! I’m in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 497 other followers

