I AM Voting Pro Life

This is not, I am sure, an original thought in the social justice blogosphere.

But.

As I’m driving around this election season (you know, like Christmas shopping season — it all started in July!), I keep seeing these signs.

Vote Pro Life.

Vota Pro Vida.

Since I am so easily swayed by the power of words on paper posterboard, I have decided that voting pro life is precisely what I’m going to do.

I’m going to start with the people who respect the fact that my uterus, my ovaries, my vagina, and all those darn X chromosomes don’t make my life less valuable and doesn’t make me less fit to govern my own choices. This means people who understand that nothing — not a penis, not an ultrasound wand, not a baby — comes into or out of my cunt without my consent.

Pro life means respecting the lives, respecting the agencies, of roughly half the people on this planet. We are the individual bosses of our bodies, and this includes our sexual and reproductive organs.

Next, I’m going to look for the candidates who believe that food and health care are entitlements. Yes, entitlements (and yes, italics) — because you know, food and medical treatment are essential to staying alive. I know that not everyone is into that whole Bible thing, but I think there are worse words to live by than these:

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’”

– Matthew 25:35-45, NIV

Even for folks not looking to receive eternal reward or to avoid eternal punishment, this also falls well under the umbrella of just being a decent human being. And while I cannot personally feed every hungry person or look after every person who is sick or hurting, I can help elect people who prioritize those things and say, “Yes, this is where I want my tax dollars to go.” Because that is pro life.

Then I’m going to check out the candidates who candidates acknowledge the life of the mind. It is my experience that a good many politicians believe that the primary purpose of education is to create obedient, unquestioning little drones and peons who can fill in the bubbles and who can regurgitate rote facts — but who cannot empathize, innovate, or problem solve. It is also my experience that this style of “education” is a direct contributor to drop-out rates, juvenile delinquency, and school-to-prison pipelines. We do it this way both because it is cheap and because it reinforces and already prejudiced social hierarchy, not because it values the potential within each young life.

With this, all I can say is that I hope more people will —

Vota Pro Vida.

Vote Pro Life.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in non-asana
5 comments on “I AM Voting Pro Life
  1. This is lovely! And it’s how I’m planning to vote too.

  2. Reblogged this on Clarissa's Blog and commented:
    I almost never reblog posts but this one is so fantastic that I had to share it with everybody. Tori is a gifted blogger and a wonderful, passionate person.

  3. What an amazing post. It summarizes everything I believe about this election and what is at stake in it. Tomorrow at this time we will be celebrating our victory, I’m sure of that.

  4. PAgirl says:

    How can you call a candidate pro-life when they support taxpayer-funded abortions and then cut off assistance for women like me who struggle with infertility issues? Or don’t require maternity coverage for a young woman who is on her parent’s insurance? This is the hypocricy that Democrats wrote into Obamacare.

    • Tori says:

      While I’m against hypocrisy, your facts seem to be in error here.

      How can you call a candidate pro-life when they support taxpayer-funded abortions…

      Per the Hyde Amendment, Congress has prohibited federal funds from being used to pay for abortions (except in cases of rape, incest, or to save the life of the mother) since 1976. The Affordable Care Act has not changed this.

      Or don’t require maternity coverage for a young woman who is on her parent’s insurance? This is the hypocricy that Democrats wrote into Obamacare.

      This wasn’t written into the Affordable Care Act at all, but rather has been in place since the Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978. The Affordable Care Act actually expands the prenatal services obtainable without cost sharing or copays.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

