Superpower Wishes

Today’s prompt:

Superpower Day. If you had a superpower – what would it be? How would you use it?

Flame 002

Well, I do have a standing wish for a superpower involving making coffee appear at will. However, in the interest of creativity and stretching my writing brain, I’ll try to think of something new. And possibly healthier than the ability to mass caffeinate. Though I assure you, me + caffeine is much better public health policy than me without. 😉

Today, I think, I want the superpower of being able to identify the sources of pain. (And as far as I can see from contemporary medicine, this is still at least sometimes a superpower not yet achieved.) I mean, there are certainly plenty of cases where pain sources are pretty easily identifiable. For example, if I place my hand on a hot stove and then my hand hurts, I can pretty readily identify the stove and burn as the source of the pain. But not all pain is simple, and it’s the not simple pain I’m talking about here. For instance, when it comes to my pelvic pain, at any given time, it could be caused by active endometrial lesions, scar tissue and adhesions, nerve damage, pelvic floor dysfunction (and we don’t know how much of that is related to PTSD), running tightness or injury, or rogue ovarian cyst. Some of those are things I can alleviate, but depending on the source, the courses of action differ. And of course, some of those causes are things I can’t currently do anything about.

I’d like to alleviate the pain I can. I’m willing to accept the pain I can’t fix. But I would like to be able to tell the fucking difference.

So, yeah. That’s how I’d use that superpower in a personal sense.

Beyond me — Well, people with complicated pain exist beyond me. I’m betting at least a few of them would be similarly enthusiastic about being able to determine why something hurts — even if I can’t make the hurt go away. That would be awesome too, but it’s maybe not my superpower. I just want to know what’s going on.

Barring that, I’d wish for my superpower to be the ability to command all traffic signals while I’m running so that I never have to break pace at intersections. 😛

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Superpower Wishes
  1. I would like the superpower of having the level of work I do recognized and appreciated by those above me in supervisory positions, instead of assuming I’m just messing about and then them piling more work on my over full desk.

    Does that count?

Leave a Reply

