Health Challenge 9: Keep Calm Poster

Keep calm and carry on. Write (and create) your own Keep Calm and Carry On poster. Can you make it about your condition? Then go to
(http://www.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk/) and actually make an image to post to your blog.

Since today’s prompt talked about “condition” rather than just health focus, I thought about endometriosis first. My poster:

Keep taking your birth control and NSAIDs and pretend like they work.

The sad irony is that this is precisely the advice most of my health care providers have given me.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Health Challenge 9: Keep Calm Poster
  1. kaberett says:

    Oh ugh. Yeah. I’m currently on “take all the painkillers, see you in four months” – from a consultant who thinks 5mg of codeine will give me constipation.

    Luckily my GP is more sensible, so I’ve now got access to a ready supply of codeine 15s (AND GUESS WHAT, no side effects up to 75mg in a day!)… but I don’t LIKE maxing out on paracetamol, and I don’t LIKE continuously taking NSAIDs given existing stomach problems, and I don’t LIKE that I’m adding anti-spasmodics and amitriptyline to the mix to see if they help. And, you know, I’m better on this lot than off it, but it is still a case of “pretending it works” :-/

    (As for HBC: lolol I can’t take it. Any of it.)

    • Tori says:

      With respect to the codeine constipation, at least I can argue, “I have an IBD that manifests with diarrhea. I do not fear stoppering my poo!” It gets a laugh out of my NP, at least.

  2. Love this! Had endo for 5 years – ended up with a hysterectomy, I was on morphine for the pain, which didn’t work all that well, even at a higher dosage, tried everything! Now still have slight residual abdominal pain, but the best thing to do seems to be to try and ignore it and get on with living. It is now much better than it was before hysterectomy – but I wouldn’t opt for surgery unless you have considered all other options. (This reply is my personal comments and not health advice.)

    • Tori says:

      Thanks. I have considered all other options. That said, I’m still not interested in hysterectomy as it almost certainly will not remove a significant chunk of my pain.

Leave a Reply

