Pinterest, Too Much Social Networking, and Me

First off, today’s prompt:

Pinboard. Create a pinterest board for your health focus. Pin 3 things. What did you pin? Share the images in a post and explain why you chose them.

Prior to preparing to write this post, I had had nothing to do with Pinterest. At present, I am on the waiting list for an invite.

Should I get one in time, I will proceed with the prompt accordingly. Should I not, I will edit this post to include my recipe for snackalicious roasted kale. (No, really. It’s like popcorn — with Vitamin K and iron. Every anemic’s dream!)

Should I do the Pinterest post here, the kale recipe will be forthcoming at a later date.

Update: I do have my Pinterest invite, but I haven’t had time to look around on it. So, krispy kale it is!

Kale-Bundle

Ingredients:
1 pound sliced kale (either pre-bagged or sliced at home)
1 tablespoon coconut oil (can probably substitute other oils to taste, depending on smoke point)
salt or other seasonings to taste**

To Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. While waiting for the oven to warm up, heat the oil in a wok (can probably get by with a saute pan) over medium-high flame. Note: Depending on the size of the pain and the volume of the kale, you may have to saute in 2 batches of 1/2 pound kale and 1/2 tablespoon oil each.
  3. Saute 1-3 minutes, stirring constantly. You’re not looking for it to be super mushy, just at the, “Nope, that is definitely not raw anymore,” stage.
  4. Lay out kale in a single layer on a baking sheet. (Because the kale itself is coated with oil, I’ve never needed to oil the baking sheet.) Season to taste.
  5. Cook at 400F for approximately 12 minutes. What you’re looking for is to get the kale out after it as turned crispy but before it burns and turns brown.
  6. Remove from baking sheet, slide into a popcorn bowl. Allow it to cool just a bit, then eat and enjoy!

** I keep wanting to try this with wasabi powder, but so far I’ve not been so adventurous.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Pinterest, Too Much Social Networking, and Me
  1. I AM GOING TO DIE NOW. This sounds awesome; the one good thing I took with me from my raw food days is a love of kale. Thank you!

    • Tori says:

      You know, I’d actually shied away from kale for a long time because it has a reputation for being a trendy-hippie-yuppie health food. (That, and a reputation for being kind of strong tasting.) I guess I’d formed this unfounded opinion of kale as being a food people ate because it gave them public “healthier than thou” points rather than because they actually liked it.

      Then I tried it and discovered I really, really like it. (I guess it might be strong-tasting for people who are not so used to a lot of dark green veggies, but I don’t notice an especially strong taste.) It would not hurt, I think, if there were more “I eat this food because I like it” posts in the world about kale.

Leave a Reply

