It would have been awesome.

One final health blogging challenge post. (Aside from the wrap-up, which I may delay a day.)

Word Cloud. Make a word cloud or tree with a list of words that come to mind when you think about your blog, health, or interests. Use a thesaurus to make the branches of your “tree” extend further. http://www.wordle.net/

Coca de verdura (Carcaixent)

Okay, fuck it. It’s not working for me. I have dutifully followed the troubleshooting instructions. Remind me to post a filler recipe sometime in the near future.

Filler Recipe: Kale Mini Pizzas

Since it’s getting to be Weather of Oven Doom where I live, I’ve been paying special attention to anything I cook that uses said appliance. Some of them are worth a few hours of four hundred degree house; some of them get packed up, along with pants and long sleeves, for fall. I like to think this recipe is in the former category, but I suppose only time will tell. Though as a variation on English muffin pizzas (did I mention I am not a gourmet cook?), it’s a do-able summer recipe for folks with toaster ovens.

Ingredients (to make a baking sheet full):

5 English muffins, sliced in half
1.5 cups pizza or (leftover) spaghetti sauce
2 cups chopped kale
8 ounce package of shredded mozzarella blend cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Steam or saute kale until slightly wilted. For this recipe, I am a fan of just chucking it in the microwave, covered, with a tablespoon of water for 20-30 seconds. It doesn’t have to be all the way wilty because more of that will happen in the oven. Just, like, get it started.
  3. Arrange English muffin halves on a baking sheet. Spoon sauce onto each, preferably all the way to the edges. (PS — This recipe assumes your sauce already comes spiced as you like it. If you typically add things like garlic or red pepper as you’re making pizza, I would go ahead and do so here as well.)
  4. Next, add the kale. Yes, under the cheese.
  5. Cover with enough cheese to make sure the kale does not escape the muffin. (I am not actually sure how much cheese I use here. I buy an 8 ounce package and use probably more than half but less than almost all of it.) I am a particular fan of using a blend with a very flavorful Italian-style cheese, like Romano and/or asiago. Paired up with the kale, it enhances the flavor of fabulous. (Also, as someone whose GI tract is sensitive to dairy, it means I end up using less than I would if it were just mozzarella.)
  6. Bake at 375 for 12-15 minutes, until the cheese begins to brown on top and the pizza is warm enough all the way through. Remove and allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

Partly because I tend to make these with leftover pasta sauce — which, when I make it, often includes fun, happy chunks of onion, green pepper, and mushroom — I don’t top with anything besides kale and cheese. However, if one were making them with a different sort of sauce, experimenting with flavor combinations could be interesting. Just, for me, at some point there is a physical limit as to how much a single English muffin can hold! 😀

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

