This is what burnout feels like.

Sometimes, I get so stressed that I don’t realize how much tension I’m carrying in my jaw, neck, and shoulders until I’m actually in pain. It’s not the immediate difference of workout soreness or injury or even the familiar hell of a chronic pain flare up. Rather, it starts as stiffness and limits on the edges of my range of motion, limits that steadily creep inward until there’s no give left anywhere.


[David Procyshyn instructing for DoYogaWithMe.com. Video via YouTube.]

As for me, the big things are done for now. I do have some little bits to get done, but they’re not due for nearly a week. Looks like an excellent time for procrastination. Er, I mean restoration.

About

I'm here. I like stuff. Some other stuff, I like less.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “This is what burnout feels like.
  1. meredith says:

    thank you so much for pointing me towards do yoga with me – this is one great resource for my practice (I do love me some variation, but don’t want DVDs piling up around my apartment)

    • Tori says:

      They are a pretty great resource. I’ve tried a variety of their classes with different instructors, and they’re all done well. I mean, I’m sure not every style (of practice and instructing) meshes with every student, but in terms of looking for something solid, they’re quite good.

Leave a Reply

